Global Now / Week 4

Diabetes is for Skinny People Too!

Spencer Kohn

School of Art and Design History and Theory

Global Issues in Design and Visuality in the 21st Century

Joel Towers Section: Juliana Cope

Global Now: Abstract

Headline: In ‘Obesity Paradox,’ Thinner May Mean Sicker

Date: 9/17//2012

Source: The New York Times

 

 

 

Abstract: About three weeks ago, I had a mini scare for diabetes. I had all the symptoms, and after a night on webmd.com, I was sold. I went to the doctor and had my blood tested for that among other diseases, only to find out that I am just a typical college student; I was tired from an inconsistent sleep schedule, eating a lot because I was constantly active, and had lost weight because I was working 100+ hour weeks over the summer. Other than that, my blood was super healthy.

What I found interesting about this article was that during my research I came across something similar. Diabetes is not uncommon in skinny people, and can sometimes affect them even more than in an overweight person. Many people assume that Diabetes is only for obese people, but that is because many people are left undiagnosed because of this mistake. When skinny people have diabetes, they have less reserves to pull from in their body and can be affected stronger.

 

Link: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/09/18/health/research/more-data-suggests-fitness-matters-more-than-weight.html?src=recg

 

Global Issue: Health

Primary Design Lens: Health

Secondary Design Lens: Medicine

 

Leave a Reply

