Global Studio / Thesis

Thesis Spencer Kohn

Thesis:

Glitch art is made up of accidentally un-accidental mistakes. They come from a blip or
a bloop in technology that isn’t “supposed” to happen. Glitches are always associated
with technology. I have taken something that is otherwise normal- videotaping scenes-
and given it a new life through the wires. I consider my practice to be a remediation
of photography. This transformation leads to what I now consider art, and what many
others feel the need to respond to.

The real question is: what is a mistake? How do we differentiate this from what is
normal? In this glossy, hyper-mediated culture that we live in, it is my reaction to
protest. I protest perfection. By “glitching” my videos, turning them into a staccato of
frames, and presenting them as a finished product, I react to the Internet culture and
tabbed browsing.

Tabbed browsing has changed the way we live. You open a tab, and another, and
another. We are so used to multitasking in our lives that we don’t even realize where it
affects us. Our news shows up like our Facebook feed. There are multiple windows all
relaying information to us at once. But we don’t notice it. Advertisements are run with
an array of information. You look at the difference between an ad now and an ad before
the Internet boom, the main difference is simplicity. Why do we feel the need to have
everything at once?

Hypermediacy is a word that has come to describe our craving. Hypermediacy can
best be described as our need to have the fastest download times, to have a smooth
transition from app to app and program to program. Any delay will bother. We must
have our food grown, cooked and delivered yesterday when we placed our order today.
And most importantly, our movies must keep us interested with constant “something.”
Anything really.

I have created a process. I film, splice it together into mini-movies, hook it into my
camera again and out comes an image. My films last thirty seconds to a minute,
because that is all my patience will allow. The result is an image, divided by pauses,
frames and motion lines that defines hypermediation. You have watched a movie while
viewing my photograph. The divides in my images reference tabbed browsing, while the
vicious lines in between are meant to provoke anxiety. My subject matter, for this project
I have decided to focus on film stills. This is meant to ground my images to a feeling.
I am not trying to obscure or trick people. I want them to understand, but at the same
time, I want them to question.

Leave a Reply

